My first Armchair BEA Day 1 (a little late but still)

Hello everybody,

This is my first Armchair BEA. I’m not sure what this is all about or what I’m supposed to do but we’ll see… If I understood correctly, I was supposed to introduce myself yesterday.. I’ll just do it today and pretend I’m not late (that’s something I often do). Here we go…self-interviewing myself :

1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

I’m Maud. I used to be a French and Literature teacher in France until I met a giant Australian dude who took me over there, down under. While waiting to get all my papers in order before I start working again, I’m visiting the countryside, catching up on my readings and started a blog a couple of months ago. I started this blog because I had to find a way to force myself to write in English on a regular basis plus I wanted something a little more permanent than a notebook to keep my thoughts about the books I’ve read on.

2. Where in the world are you blogging from? Tell a random fact or something special about your current location. Feel free to share pictures.

I’m currently living in Port Macquarie, east coast of Australia. From the beach, which is about 2 minutes from our appartment, we often observe hunchback whales and dolphins…sounds like paradise doesn’t it ?

3. Have you previously participated in Armchair BEA? What brought you back for another year? If you have not previously participated, what drew you to the event?

I’ve never participated in Armchair BEA, I’m not even sure what this is all about but the perspective of talking about books and meeting fellow bloggers and book lovers seemed fun enough.

4. What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2013?

I’m currently reading Frankenstein by Mary Shelley and Anna Karenina by Tolstoy. My favorite 2013 books so far are Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson and Live by Night by Dennis Lehane.

5. Name your favorite blog(s) and explain why they are your favorite(s).

I’d say Paperback Castles for the quality of the pictures.Β http://paperbackcastles.blogspot.dk/

6. If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?

I’d have dinner with Dennis Lehane and make him talk endlessly about Boston.

There, first part 1 done ! See you very soon for the rest of the Armchair BEA fellow bloggers and book lovers πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “My first Armchair BEA Day 1 (a little late but still)

  1. Welcome to Armchair BEA! I was late with my introductory post, too, so I’m visiting some other last-minute people! France and Australia seem so fascinating to me, but here I am in the Boston area and can ride in on the train any time. We should do an exchange trip! One problem with these blogging events is finding so many new blogs to read and keep up with! I definitely have to read The Orphan Master’s Son, but haven’t gotten to it yet.

    • Nice meeting you too πŸ™‚ France is a fascinating country. People here often ask me if I miss and when I say yes, they seem surprised. I have to explain to them that I didn’t leave France because I didn’t like it. France is full of history and traditions that are so normal for us and so bizarre for foreigners. I miss the historical buildings. Even if Australia looks a lot like paradise, not a building here is more than 150 years old… I used to live surrounded by 1000 years old churches, in a city where the centre is paved with roman roads.

  2. I’m Canadian, but I went to high school in Australia. Not sure if I have visited Port Macquarie, but feel I have been in that area. I have family in Brisbane and went to high school on the Sunshine Coast. How do you like Frankenstein and Anna Karenina? Frankenstein is one of my all-time favourite books. I read AK earlier this year. It was a long read, but I loved it. Enjoy the rest of Armchair BEA!

    • My dearest half lived on the Sunshine Coast and his parents are still there. What a lovely area ! We’re planning on moving up there in a few years. I have a friend in Calgary who’s trying to convince me to visit her during the Canadian winter (not happening anytime soon). I have been really disappointed by Frankenstein. I haven’t finished Anna Karenina yet but I’m loving it (I’m reading in French, it makes it easier for me)

  3. I’m new to Armchair BEA too! For someone who has to force themselves to write in English, your English is really good. Probably better than mine, and I live in the US. France and Australia, seem like wonderful places to live. My French teacher at school has so many interesting stories from when he lived in Paris. Not to mention, all the history and historical buildings France has. I hope I can visit France soon, but the closest I’ll get is probably Quebec…

    Emz @ Icy Cold Reads

    • Thank you very much Emz. France is a wonderful country, full of history, culture and delightful things to do (and to eat !). Depending on what you want to do, I would give you a little advice that could make you trip to France cheaper (therefore happening sooner than you thought), stay in a small countryside town… Go to Paris only for a few days, and the rest of the time enjoy the French countryside. Paris is awesome, but Paris is not France. You’ll get the true French experience in towns or cities all around the country and for way cheaper than in Paris.

Leave a Reply

