Frenchman’s Creek by Daphné Du Maurier, 1941

I’ve just finished Frenchman’s Creek by Daphné Du Maurier and I’m sorry to report that I didn’t enjoy it. It was an easy read. Du Maurier has a fluid style and if you’re versed in love stories, you’d probably like it.

I never gather informations about a book or an author that I don’t know because I don’t to be biased so I had no idea what the book was about. All I knew about Daphné Du Maurier was that she was an English writer from the early 20th centuryand that she was member of the “You made it into the Classics” club. So I went my merry way to the public library and grabbed the first one I saw.

The plot revolves around Lady St Columb (Dona). She is a rich woman from London, married to a dull (some could say dumb) man. She’s bored out of her mind and dreams of freedom. She runs away to the family countryside estate in Navron where an horrible bloodthirsty and virtue thief French pirate strikes. Dona notices that William, her manservant, has an awkward behavior so she follows him in the woods to a creek where the pirate ship is hiding. She  gets captured by the pirate and falls in love with him.

I won’t say more for the ones who would want to read it.

I found the plot quite thin and the epilogue quite easy, without any surprise. The love story was heavily sugar coated and the good feelings spread thick so I’d give it a 4/10

Leave a Reply

