The Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy Toole, 1981

So last time we talked , we had left Ignatius on the verge of a cataclysmic breakdown because his mother asked him to get out of bed and find a job. So did he and let’s just say it is quite an experience. I won’t say too much because you need to read this book ! You will meet some new characters all more colorful, brilliant, degenerate. You will encounter emotional blackmail, gays able to institute world peace by taking over the armies (one of Ignatius’s brilliant political ideas)… You will never be bored with this unconventional novel.

John and I have finished our journey together, we are through ! (for now, I’m so not finished with him and I’ll always regret that he was the author of two novels only).

My dearest asked me how did I hear about such a book and that reminded me of my Pulitzer Prize goal (going through the Pulitzer Prize list and read as much as I can). I’ll get back to that with The Executioner’s Song by Norman Mailer (starting it but cheating because I’m reading it in French). In the meantime, I have a Bonfire to attend to.

Leave a Reply

